Kyler Murray Wins the Heisman

Craig Ruttle/Associated Press

Saturday night's Heisman Ceremony ended the same way it did last year: an Oklahoma Sooner quarterback takes home college football's highest honor.

Kyler Murray wins while Alabama's quarterback Tua Tagovailoa came in second along with Dwayne Haskins coming in third place.

It was no surprise that Murray won the award Saturday night. He has had one of the best seasons by a college quarterback ever, racking up some impressive numbers. 51 total touchdowns, 4,053 yards passing while only throwing 7 interceptions.

Another reason it comes to no surprise that Murray won over Tagovailoa is due to Tagovailoa's performance in the SEC championship game. Tagovailoa was the Heisman favorite coming into last week's championship weekend and did not show up in the biggest game of the season. Completing 40% of his passes along with throwing 2 interceptions and then being taken out of the game due to an ankle injury. This allowed his back up, Jalen Hurts, to steal the show and get Alabama the win.

This poor performance gave Murray the lead for the most prized trophy in College football.

The best part about all of this is that the best player in college football is going to be playing baseball for the Athletics next season rather than playing on an NFL team.

Murray was the 9th overall pick in this past MLB draft.

By Colby Marchio